Office of Communications
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 20, 2015
VIDEO AND PHOTOS: End-of-Summer "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over" Crackdown on Impaired Driving Kicks Annual enforcement period aimed at reducing deaths and injuries caused by drunk and impaired driving statewide
Today, the Governor's Traffic Safety Committee (GTSC) and the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hosted a press conference in Buffalo to kick off this year's end-of-summer statewide Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over law enforcement crackdown (August 21 to September 7) on impaired driving. New York joins each state across the country for the 20-day traffic safety education and enforcement campaign, which is aimed at significantly reducing deaths and injuries caused by motorists driving drunk or impaired by drugs. While the press conference was held in Buffalo, the enforcement effort is statewide.
B-ROLL VIDEO and SOUND BYTES from the press conference are available on YouTube. Lower-third graphics for the sound bytes, in order:
Information about impaired driving in New York State:
During the summer, particularly over Labor Day weekend, there is an increase in highway travel and, unfortunately, a rise in impaired driving.
Every motorist has a role in protecting themselves and their neighbors not just during the enforcement period, but year-round, by driving free of impairments.
The 2014 GTSC annual report indicated that while the number of alcohol-related crash injuries were down in New York State by nearly 800 over a five-year period starting in 2009, 364 people were killed in such crashes in 2013.
About 30 percent of New York's crash fatalities are alcohol-related.
In New York State, the legal threshold for driving while intoxicated is a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent, but many offenders are arrested at nearly twice that level: statewide, the average BAC of those arrested for alcohol-impaired driving is more than .14.
Drugs other than alcohol, such as marijuana and cocaine, are a factor in about 18 percent of motor vehicle driver deaths, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Drivers convicted of DWI or DWAI three or more times in 15 years face a Class D felony charge, up to seven years in prison, and a fine up to $10,000.