Welcome to the Younger Driver Traffic Safety Tool-Kit
Since car crashes are a leading cause of death among teens in the US, parents, this is what you need to know about your teen drivers.
The most dangerous time of a teen driver's life is the first 12 months after receiving a license, as teen driver crashes are largely caused by driver inexperience. Inexperienced drivers can also be easily distracted, by passengers and by cell phone use. New York's graduated licensing law addresses some areas to improve teen driver safety, but parents need to do their part. Parents are a big influence on teen drivers, so be sure you are being a positive influence.
Please review the material here on our web site so you can help your child be a better — and safe, teen driver.
This webpage is a one stop toolkit/resource center for materials which are useful to traffic safety partners who are working with new and young drivers.
On November 1, 2014, the following changes to the cell phone/texting laws for drivers with a probationary license, Class DJ, Class MJ or a learner permit take effect (for cell phone and texting violations committed on or after November 1, 2014):
- Conviction will result in a mandatory 120-day driver license or permit suspension.
- Subsequent convictions within six months of a license restoration will result in a a revocation of at least one year of a probationary license, junior license or learner permit.
For texting/cell phone violations committed between July 1, 2013 and October 31, 2014 for drivers with a probationary license, Class DJ, Class MJ or a learner permit:
- Conviction will result in a mandatory 60-day driver license or permit suspension.
- A second such conviction within six months will result in:
- a revocation of at least 6 months of a probationary license, or
- a revocation of at least 60 days for a Class DJ or MJ driver license.
Review New York's cell phone and electronic device law that applies to all drivers.
If you are an individual who educates younger drivers in New York State the following resources are available to you by contacting the NYS GTSC by email at dmv.sm.SROTrafficSafetyToolKit@dmv.ny.gov.
- Public Information & Education Materials
- A poster for your school, or
- A guest speaker for your school
Some of these links are to MS Word or pdf documents. You will need Adobe Acrobat® Reader to open pdf documents.