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EVALUATION OF LEANDRA’S LAW 
ADWI WITH CHILD UNDER AGE 16 IN THE VEHICLE 

 
INTRODUCTION 
 
The Child Passenger Protection Act (Chapter 496 of the Laws of 2009), commonly known as Leandra’s 
Law, is one of the most recent in a long line of significant legislation passed in New York State to address 
the serious issue of impaired driving.  The law was named for an 11-year-old girl who was killed while 
riding in a vehicle driven by the intoxicated mother of one of her friends.  The driver received 
misdemeanor charges prompting calls for stronger legislation and stricter penalties for driving impaired 
with young passengers in the vehicle.  Leandra’s Law created a new crime of Aggravated Driving While 
Intoxicated with a Child under Age 16 in the Vehicle (Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 1192.2ab).  
Effective December 18, 2009, drivers who violate the ADWI/Child in Vehicle law are charged with a Class 
E felony and face up to four years in prison and/or a fine of $1,000-$5,000.   
 
The second major component of Leandra’s Law expands the use of ignition interlock devices as a 
sanction in alcohol impaired driving cases.  Any driver convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI is now 
required to install an ignition interlock device for a minimum of six months on any vehicle they drive.  
Drivers convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle were subject to the new sanction on the effective date of the 
new law (December 18, 2009), while the sanction for other DWI convictions (VTL 1192.2, 1192.2aa and 
1192.3) took effect on August 15, 2010.   
 
This report focuses on the implementation of the new violation of ADWI/Child in Vehicle (VTL 1192.2ab).  
The study was designed to identify the number and characteristics of drivers who had been arrested for 
violating VTL 1192.2ab between December 18, 2009 and June 30, 2011 and determine whether they 
were adjudicated and sanctioned in accordance with Leandra’s law.  
 
Using ticket data extracted from the TSLED (Traffic Safety Law Enforcement and Disposition) system on 
July 15, 2011, the first set of analyses focused on drivers ticketed for 1192.2ab violations and the 
adjudication outcome of these tickets.  TSLED includes all tickets issued for impaired driving offenses in 
New York State with the exception of New York City and five western towns in Suffolk County on Long 
Island.  The Driver License file, which contains information on all drivers in the state convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony DWI, was the source for further analyses on the drivers convicted of these 
violations.  These analyses included the penalties and sanctions received, involvement in a crash in 
association with the violation, and the extent to which these drivers had prior alcohol-related 
convictions on their driving records.  The Driver License file data used in the analyses were extracted on 
August 31, 2011. The results of the analyses are presented below.        
 
 

RESULTS OF ANALYSES OF DATA FROM THE TSLED FILE 
 

DRIVERS TICKETED FOR VTL 1192.2ab VIOLATIONS 
  
During the period of December 18, 2009 to June 30, 2011, 1,088 tickets were issued to impaired drivers 
traveling with a child under 16 years of age in their vehicle in violation of VTL 1192.2ab.   The 
distribution of these tickets by quarter of the year is presented in Figure 1.  During the 18 month period 
shown in Figure 3.1, the largest number of tickets for a violation of VTL 1192.2ab was issued July-
September 2010 (272), followed by April - June 2010 (209) and April - June 2011 (189).    
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Further analyses of the TSLED data show that the 1,088 tickets were issued to a total of 929 drivers.  
While 89% of these driers received only one ticket, 104 (11%) of those drivers were issued multiple 
tickets for violations of VTL 1192.2ab during the same event.  As indicated in Table 1, 71 (8%) of the 
drivers were issued two tickets and 33 (3%) were issued three or more tickets for violations of  
VTL 1192.2ab during the same event.  
 
 

TABLE 1 
Drivers Ticketed for Violating VTL 1192.2ab  

December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 
(N = 929) 

Number of Drivers Issued…. # % 

1 Ticket 825 88.8 

2 Tickets 71 7.6 

3 Tickets  17 1.8 

4 Tickets  13 1.4 

5 or More Tickets 3 0.3 

  Source:  NYS TSLED system; data on file as of July 15, 2011 

 

 
 

Driver Age and Gender 
 
As indicated in Table 2, the largest proportion of drivers ticketed for violating VTL 1192.2ab were 30-39 
years of age (31%), followed by drivers ages 40-49 (29%) and drivers ages 21-29 (25%).  Table 2 also 
shows that men were much more likely than women to be ticketed for violating VTL 1192.2ab (63% vs. 
37%).   
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FIGURE 1 
Total TSLED Tickets Issued  for VTL 1192.2ab Violations  

December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 
(N = 1,088) 

Source:  NYS TSLED system; data on file as of July 15, 2011 
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TABLE 2 
Drivers Ticketed for VTL 1192.2ab Violations  

December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 
Age and Gender 

(N = 929) 
Age # % 

16 - 20 65 7.0 

21 - 29 229 24.7 

30 - 39  291 31.3 

40 - 49  265 28.5 

50 - 59 69 7.4 

60 + 10 1.1 

   

Gender   

Men 582 62.7 

Women 347 37.3 

  Source:  NYS TSLED system; data on file as of July 15, 2011 

 
 

Time of Day/Day of Week 
 
Figures 2 and 3 show the time of day and day of week, respectively, when drivers were issued VTL 
1192.2ab tickets between December 18, 2009 and June 30, 2011.  Figure 2 shows that more than one-
half (54%) of the drivers were ticketed between 6pm and midnight; an additional 16% were ticketed 
between midnight and 3am. 

 
FIGURE 2 

Drivers Ticketed for VTL 1192.2ab Violations 
December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 

Time of Day 
(N = 830)
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 Source:  NYS TSLED system; data on file as of July 15, 2011 
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With regard to the day of the week, Figure 3 shows that nearly one-half (49%) of the drivers ticketed for 
violating VTL 1192.2ab were ticketed on the weekend, another 14% were ticketed on a Friday and 8%-
10% were ticketed on each of the remaining four weekdays.   

 
FIGURE 3 

Drivers Ticketed for VTL 1192.2ab Violations 
December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 

Day of Week 
(N = 929) 

 

 
 
 
ADJUDICATION OF CASES INVOLVING DRIVERS TICKETED FOR VIOLATIONS OF VTL 1192.2ab 
 
Table 3 shows that the cases of more than half (54%) of the 929 drivers ticketed for a violation of VTL 
1192.2ab were still pending at the time the data for this study were extracted in July 2011.  Of the 429 
drivers charged with a violation of VTL 1192.2ab whose cases had been adjudicated, 297(69%) of the 
cases resulted in convictions.           

   

Further analyses were conducted to determine what proportion of the 297 VTL 1192.2ab tickets 
resulting in convictions were convictions on the original 1192.2ab charge and how many were 
convictions on a different charge.  As the table indicates, 233 (79%) of the 297 convictions were for the 
original charge of VTL 1192.2ab.  Of the conviction charges that differed from the original charge, 23 
(8%) were convicted of 1192.3 (DWI), 17 (6%) were convicted of 1192.2 (Per Se) and 11 were convicted 
of 1192.2aa (ADWI).  Ten convictions were for the reduced charge of 1192.1 (DWAI) and three were 
convicted on a non alcohol-related charge. 
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Source:  NYS TSLED system; data on file as of July 15, 2011 
 



5 

 

 

TABLE 3 
Convictions Associated with Arrests for VTL 1192.2ab Violations 

December 18, 2009 – June 30, 2011 
 (N=929) % 

Drivers with case pending 500 53.8 

Drivers with case adjudicated  429 46.2 

Convicted 297 69.2 

   

Conviction Charge (N=297) % 

1192.2ab - ADWI with child < 16 years 233 78.5 

1192.3 - DWI 23 7.7 

1192.2 - Per Se 17 5.7 

1192.2aa - ADWI 11 3.7 

1192.1 - DWAI 10 3.4 

Outside 1192 3 1.0 

    Source:  NYS TSLED file; data on file as of July 15, 2011 

 
 
 

KEY FINDINGS BASED ON ANALYSES OF TSLED DATA 
 
The analyses of the TSLED data available on tickets issued for VTL 1192.21ab violations between 
December 18, 2009 and June 30, 2011 resulted in the following key findings:   
 

 929 drivers were ticketed for aggravated DWI with a child under 16 in the vehicle (VTL 1192.2ab); 
11% of the drivers received more than one ticket for ADWI/Child in Vehicle during the same event. 

 The largest numbers of drivers were ticketed during the summer (July-Sept 2010). 

 The drivers ticketed were most likely to be 30-39 years of age (31%), followed by 40-49 years of age 
(29%). 

 The drivers ticketed were much more likely to be men (63%) than women (37%). 

 More than half (54%) of the drivers were ticketed between 6pm and midnight and nearly half (49%) 
were ticketed on the weekend. 

 Of those drivers whose cases had been adjudicated, 69% were convicted. 

 Of the drivers who were convicted, 79% were convicted on the original charge of ADWI with a child 
under 16 in the vehicle. 
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RESULTS OF ANALYSES OF DATA FROM THE DRIVER LICENSE FILE 
 
DRIVERS CONVICTED OF VTL 1192.2ab VIOLATIONS 
 
Since Leandra’s Law provides for increased sanctions for drivers convicted of violating VTL 1192.2ab, 
further analyses were conducted to explore the penalties and restrictions that were imposed and 
identify additional characteristics of the drivers.  New York’s Driver License file was the data source for 
these analyses because it includes all convictions for these violations, including convictions on tickets 
issued in New York City and the western towns in Suffolk County that are not part of the TSLED system.   
 
In addition to containing the total population of drivers convicted of 1192.2ab convictions, the Driver 
License file provides the opportunity to review the driving histories of the drivers with 1192.2ab 
convictions and determine to what extent they have prior alcohol-related convictions on their records.   
Through the Driver License file it can also be determined whether drivers convicted of 1192.2ab on or 
after August 15, 2010 received an ignition interlock restriction on their license.  As previously 
mentioned, effective August 15, 2010, Leandra’s Law also expanded the ignition interlock sanction to all 
drivers convicted of misdemeanor or felony DWI.   
 
The following analyses were based on the convictions for 1192.2ab violations that were on the Driver 
License file as of August 31, 2011.  Of the 350 drivers convicted of 1192.2ab, 338 were New York State 
drivers and 12 were out-of-state drivers.  The analyses focus on the 338 New York State drivers 
convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle during this time period.  
 

 
Convictions by Region and County 
 
The majority (81%) of the drivers convicted for ADWI/Child in Vehicle violations occurred in the Upstate 
region of New York which is comprised of the 55 counties north of New York City (Figure 4).  Another 
13% percent of the drivers were convicted in courts in the Long Island region comprised of Nassau and 
Suffolk counties and 5% of the convictions occurred in the five counties of New York City. 
 

 
 
The number of drivers convicted in each of the counties in the state is shown in Table 4.  The counties 
with the highest numbers of drivers convicted of these violations were Erie (41), Suffolk (24), Albany 
(23), Orange (23), Nassau (21) and Westchester (21).  

81.4% 

5.3% 13.3% 

FIGURE 4 
ADWI/Child in Vehicle Convictions by Region 

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
(N=338) 
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 Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 
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TABLE 4 
Drivers Convicted for Violations of VTL 1192.2ab Violations 

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
County of Conviction 

(N=338) 

  # %   # % 

County     
   Albany 23  6.8 Niagara 0  0.0 

Allegany  0 0.0 Oneida  11  3.3 

Bronx  0  0.0 Onondaga  17  5.0 

Broome  3  0.9 Ontario  3  0.9 

Cattaraugus  4  1.2 Orange  23  6.8 

Cayuga  1  0.3 Orleans  0  0.0 

Chautauqua  3  0.9 Oswego 1  0.3 

Chemung  4  1.2 Otsego  0  0.0 

Chenango  1  0.3 Putnam  2  0.6 

Clinton  7  2.1 Queens  3  0.9 

Columbia  3  0.9 Rensselaer  7  2.1 

Cortland  2  0.6 Richmond  1  0.3 

Delaware  3  0.9 Rockland  3  0.9 

Dutchess  5  1.5 St Lawrence  0  0.0 

Erie  41  12.1 Saratoga  4  1.2 

Essex  0  0.0 Schenectady  5  1.5 

Franklin  4 1.2 Schoharie  0  0.0 

Fulton  4  1.2 Schuyler  2  0.6 

Genesee  0  0.0 Seneca  3  0.9 

Greene  1  0.3 Steuben  2  0.6 

Hamilton  0  0.0 Suffolk  24  7.1 

Herkimer  0  0.0 Sullivan  5 1.5  

Jefferson  4  1.2 Tioga  1  0.3 

Kings  10  3.0 Tompkins  4  1.2 

Lewis  0  0.0 Ulster  8  2.4 

Livingston  2  0.6 Warren  1  0.3 

Madison  4  1.2 Washington  0  0.0 

Monroe  18  5.3 Wayne  8  2.4 

Montgomery  2  0.6 Westchester  21 6.2 

Nassau  21  6.2 Wyoming  3  0.9 

New York  4 1.2 Yates  2  0.6 

        Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 
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Gender and Age of Drivers Convicted for Violating VTL 1192.2ab 
 
As shown in Table 5, approximately one-third (34%) of the drivers convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle 
were in the 40-49 age group, followed by the 50-59 age group (28%) and the 30-39 age group (20%).  
The drivers were more likely to be male than female (63% versus 37%). 

 

TABLE 5 
Drivers Convicted for VTL 1192.2ab Violations  

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
Age and Gender 

(N = 338) 
Age # % 

16 - 20 13 3.9 

21 - 29 27 8.0 

30 - 39  68 20.1 

40 - 49  114 33.7 

50 - 59 96 28.4 

60 + 16 4.7 

 4 1.2 

Gender   

Male 214 63.3 

Female 124 36.7 

 Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 

 
 
Driver History 
 
It was also of interest to determine to what extent drivers convicted of ADWI with a child under age 16 
in the vehicle had prior alcohol-related convictions on their driving records.  While 70% of the drivers 
convicted for 1192.2ab violations had no prior alcohol-related driving convictions within the previous 10 
years, 30% were repeat offenders (Table 6).  Approximately one-quarter (24%) had one prior conviction, 
4% had two prior convictions and 2% had three or more alcohol-related driving convictions within the 
previous 10 years. 
 
 

TABLE 6 
Driving History of Drivers Convicted  for VTL 1192.2ab Violations 

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
(N = 338) 

 # % 

No prior 1192 convictions 236 69.8 

1 prior conviction 82 24.3 

2 prior convictions 13 3.8 

3 or more prior convictions 7 2.1 

   Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 
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Crashes 
 
As the table below indicates, the majority of the drivers (83%) convicted of 1192.2ab were not involved 
in a crash in conjunction with their arrest for ADWI/Child in Vehicle.  None of the drivers were involved 
in a fatal crash, 10% were involved in a personal injury crash and 7% were involved in a property damage 
crash.  

TABLE 7 
Drivers Involved in Crashes Associated with VTL 1192.2ab Violations 

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
(N = 338) 

 # % 

No crash  280 82.8 

Fatal crash 0 0.0 

Personal injury crash 34 10.1 

Property damage crash 24 7.1 

   Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 
 
 

Penalties and Sanctions 
 
The penalties and sanctions imposed on the drivers convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle violations are 
included in Table 8.  Under Leandra’s Law, drivers convicted of 1192.2ab violations are subject to a one 
year license revocation, a fine of $1,000-$5,000 and/or a jail sentence of up to four years.     
 
As previously discussed, Leandra’s Law also requires that drivers convicted of misdemeanor or felony 
DWI to have an ignition interlock installed on their vehicle for a minimum of six months.  For drivers 
convicted of 1192.2ab violations, this sanction was effective on December 18, 2009.  Depending on their 
driving history and other factors, the ignition interlock sanction may be part of a conditional discharge or 
a sentence to probation.    
 
Following conviction and sentencing, the court sends the disposition information to the NYS Department 
of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for entry on the driver’s license record.  In addition to entering the court order 
regarding the installation of an ignition interlock, DMV places the driving restriction “INTERLOCK 
DEVICE” on the driver’s license record.  If a court fails to impose the interlock sanction for convictions 
that meet the criteria under Leandra’s Law, the DMV sends a letter respectfully reminding the court 
about the law.  If the court sends an amended disposition requesting the restriction, DMV will then 
place the “INTERLOCK DEVICE” restriction on the driver’s license.    
 
As indicated in Table 8, all 338 drivers convicted of 1192.2ab violations had their driver’s license revoked 
in accordance with the law; the revocation period was one year for 82% of the drivers and more than 
one year for the remaining 18% of the convicted drivers.  
 
Fine information was provided on the license records of 61% of the convicted drivers.  Of the drivers 
with fine information available, 70% received the minimum mandatory fine of $1,000, 20% were fined 
between $1,001 and $2,000, and 5% were fined more than $2,000.  Only eight of the convicted drivers 
were sentenced to jail.  Ninety-two percent of the drivers convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle violations 
had the driving restriction INTERLOCK DEVICE noted on their license record.   
 
 



10 

 

TABLE 8 
Penalties Imposed on Drivers Convicted of VTL 1192.2ab Violations 

December 18, 2009 – August 31, 2011 
(N = 338) 

 # % 

License Sanctions   

Revoked for 1 year 278 82.2 

Revoked for more than 1 year 60 17.8 

Fines   

No Fine Reported  132 39.1 

Fine  Reported 206 60.9 

Less than $1,000 8 3.9 

$1,000  145 70.4 

$1,001 - $1,999 19 9.2 

$2,000 23 11.2 

More than $2,000 11 5.3 

Jail Sentence 8 2.4 

Ignition Interlock Restriction 310 91.7 

  Source:  NYS Driver License File; convictions on file as of August 31, 2011 

 
 
KEY FINDINGS BASED ON ANALYSES OF DRIVER LICENSE DATA 
 
The analyses of the data available on the Driver License file as of August 31, 2011 resulted in the 
following key findings regarding drivers convicted on VTL 1192.2ab violations since December 18, 2009, 
the effective date of the law: 
 

 Eight out of ten drivers convicted on ADWI/Child in Vehicle violations were convicted in the Upstate 
region of New York. 

 The counties with the highest numbers of convicted drivers were Erie (41), Albany (23), Orange (23) 
and Westchester (21) in the Upstate region and Suffolk (24) and Nassau (21) on Long Island.    

 The drivers convicted for violating 1192.2ab were most likely to be in the 40-49 year old age group 
(34%), followed by the 50-59 age group (28%). 

 The drivers convicted of this violation were more likely to be male (63%) than female (37%). 

 30% of the drivers convicted for ADWI/Child in Vehicle were repeat offenders (one or more prior 
VTL 1192 convictions in the previous ten years). 

 17% of the convicted drivers were involved in a crash in conjunction with their arrest for ADWI/Child 
in Vehicle. 

 The majority of drivers convicted of ADWI/Child in Vehicle received the appropriate penalties; all of 
the drivers received a license revocation of at least year and 96% of the drivers for whom fine 
information was available were fined at least $1,000, the mandatory minimum fine.   

 92% of the drivers convicted of 1192.2ab violations had the restriction INTERLOCK DEVICE entered 
on their driver license record. 

 


